🇿🇦 South Africa Open Source Contributors

Discover the top open source developers from the South Africa who are revolutionizing the IT world with their exceptional talent and ground-breaking projects.

Developers

4,142

Organizations

396

Repositories

23,128

Top Rank

C#, R, Rust

🇿🇦 Made in South Africa Compare with other countries 🌐 All countries

Top Contributors

1
SensePost (@sensepost)

sensepost

Python, C, Perl
26,686
star
2
WooCommerce (@woocommerce)

woocommerce

PHP, JavaScript, TypeScript
20,925
star
3
Oliver Nightingale (@olivernn)

olivernn

JavaScript, Ruby, Rust
10,114
star
4
Dane Mackier (@FilledStacks)

FilledStacks

Dart, TypeScript, C++
6,886
star
5
毒奶博主 (@limbopro)

limbopro

JavaScript
6,569
star
6
Mitchell Krog (@mitchellkrogza)

mitchellkrogza

Shell, C, Java
6,322
star
7
JustDjango (@justdjango)

justdjango

Python, JavaScript, CSS
5,825
star
8
Tiaan (@tiaanduplessis)

tiaanduplessis

JavaScript, TypeScript, HTML
4,842
star
9
Derick Payne (@rizonesoft)

rizonesoft

C#, C++, HTML
4,660
star
10
Steve J Donovan (@stevedonovan)

stevedonovan

Lua, Rust, C
2,692
star
11
Kartoza Open Source Geospatial Solutions (@kartoza)

kartoza

Python, Shell, JavaScript
2,624
star
12
Benjamin van Niekerk (@bshall)

bshall

Python, Jupyter Notebook
2,139
star
13
Wesley Pyburn (@TCNOco)

TCNOco

C#, JavaScript, C++
1,964
star
14
@akserg

akserg

TypeScript, Dart, JavaScript
1,883
star
15
@micah5

micah5

Python, JavaScript, Vue
1,801
star
16
ABSA OSS (@AbsaOSS)

AbsaOSS

Scala, Go, JavaScript
1,661
star
17
Toby Kurien (@tobykurien)

tobykurien

Java, Xtend, JavaScript
1,657
star
18
Leon Jacobs (@leonjza)

leonjza

Python, Shell, PHP
1,474
star
19
Ronomon (@ronomon)

ronomon

JavaScript, C
1,337
star
20
Ruan Bekker (@ruanbekker)

ruanbekker

Python, Shell, HCL
1,326
star
21
Paul Myburgh (@lostpebble)

lostpebble

TypeScript, JavaScript
1,297
star
22
Praekelt Consulting (@praekelt)

praekelt

Python, JavaScript, HTML
1,261
star
23
@Superbalist

Superbalist

PHP, JavaScript, Dockerfile
1,225
star
24
Matthew Leibowitz (@mattleibow)

mattleibow

C#, HTML, PowerShell
1,200
star
25
Hugh Lashbrooke (@hlashbrooke)

hlashbrooke

PHP
1,128
star
26
Ross MacArthur (@rossmacarthur)

rossmacarthur

Rust, Python, Shell
1,126
star
27
John Cass (@jcass77)

jcass77

Python
1,122
star
28
@InitRoot

InitRoot

Python, C#, Rust
1,054
star
29
Donovan Schönknecht (@tpyo)

tpyo

Rust, Python, PHP
1,030
star
30
Stackworx (@stackworx)

stackworx

TypeScript
972
star
31
Cory Zue (@czue)

czue

Python, HTML, JavaScript
953
star
32
SiteOrigin (@siteorigin)

siteorigin

PHP, JavaScript, CSS
948
star
33
Kurt Mbanje (@ckurtm)

ckurtm

Java
942
star
34
Izak Marais (@IzakMarais)

IzakMarais

HTML, Processing, Go
938
star
35
Greg Zaal (@gregzaal)

gregzaal

Python, PHP, Tcl
877
star
36
@Ahaochan

Ahaochan

Java, JavaScript, HTML
861
star
37
Christopher Pitt (@assertchris)

assertchris

PHP, JavaScript, GDScript
802
star
38
Gareth Dwyer (@sixhobbits)

sixhobbits

Python, Jupyter Notebook, HTML
785
star
39
Ashley Kleynhans (@ashleykleynhans)

ashleykleynhans

Python, Shell, JavaScript
780
star
40
Lauren Waller (@laurenwaller)

laurenwaller

CSS
780
star
41
Data Science for Social Impact Research Group @ University of Pretoria (@dsfsi)

dsfsi

Jupyter Notebook, Makefile, Python
761
star
42
Wade (@morristech)

morristech

Java, Shell, JavaScript
755
star
43
Darren Jacoby (@darrenjacoby)

darrenjacoby

JavaScript, CSS, PHP
742
star
44
Lukonde Mwila (@LukeMwila)

LukeMwila

JavaScript, HCL, TypeScript
737
star
45
Dominic White (@singe)

singe

Python, Rust, Dockerfile
728
star
46
Vernon Grant (@VernonGrant)

VernonGrant

Emacs Lisp, CSS, Makefile
727
star
47
@xXxTheDarkprogramerxXx

xXxTheDarkprogramerxXx

C#, C++, Lua
723
star
48
Book Dash (@bookdash)

bookdash

CSS, TypeScript, Java
714
star
49
Jean Verster (@jeanverster)

jeanverster

TypeScript
710
star
50
Francois Aucamp (@faucamp)

faucamp

Python, Java
701
star
51
Hagen Brooks (@HBiSoft)

HBiSoft

Java
663
star
52
Ben Nortier (@bjnortier)

bjnortier

JavaScript, Erlang, Python
659
star
53
David Fraser (@davidfraser)

davidfraser

Python, Jupyter Notebook, JavaScript
656
star
54
Leslie Young (@plyoung)

plyoung

C#, ShaderLab, Python
650
star
55
Andrew Collier (@datawookie)

datawookie

R, Shell, Jupyter Notebook
645
star
56
Code for Africa (CfA) (@CodeForAfrica)

CodeForAfrica

JavaScript, Python, HTML
627
star
57
Daniel Lochner (@daniellochner)

daniellochner

C#
614
star
58
Dani Smith (@danini-the-panini)

danini-the-panini

Ruby, Crystal, JavaScript
597
star
59
Qawelesizwe Mlilo (@qawemlilo)

qawemlilo

JavaScript, PHP, CSS
594
star
60
Chris Bongers (@rebelchris)

rebelchris

JavaScript, Astro, HTML
587
star
61
Simon de la Rouviere (@simondlr)

simondlr

JavaScript, Python, Solidity
575
star
62
Elton Renda (@ej52)

ej52

HTML, Python, Shell
573
star
63
Jared (@jaredlll08)

jaredlll08

Java, Kotlin, ZenScript
549
star
64
hendrik swanepoel (@hendrikswan)

hendrikswan

JavaScript, Ruby, TypeScript
514
star
65
Fortune Ngwenya (@FortuneN)

FortuneN

C, C#
505
star
66
Platform45 (@platform45)

platform45

Ruby, CSS, Shell
490
star
67
Gerhard Potgieter (@kloon)

kloon

PHP, C++
484
star
68
William Hunter (@williamhunter)

williamhunter

Pascal, C, Python
474
star
69
@PiggyAwesome

PiggyAwesome

Python, JavaScript, C
472
star
70
cazz (@cazzwastaken)

cazzwastaken

C++, C
442
star
71
Louis Van Der Walt (@Louisvdw)

Louisvdw

Python
438
star
72
Brandon Hamilton (@brandonhamilton)

brandonhamilton

Python, Rust, Pascal
434
star
73
Werner Stoop (@wernsey)

wernsey

C, Awk, C++
432
star
74
Nanosoft (@nanosoftonline)

nanosoftonline

JavaScript, TypeScript, Swift
432
star
75
A-J Roos (@Asjas)

Asjas

TypeScript, Vue
428
star
76
Jean-Pierre Fourie (@emotality)

emotality

PHP, Objective-C
424
star
77
Alexander Oloo (@alekcz)

alekcz

Clojure, JavaScript
422
star
78
Carl Sandrock (@alchemyst)

alchemyst

Python, Jupyter Notebook, MATLAB
415
star
79
James Roberts (@jamesroberts)

jamesroberts

Python, C, Java
409
star
80
Jacques Blom (@jacques-blom)

jacques-blom

TypeScript, JavaScript, Java
408
star
81
Jacques Heunis (@jacquesh)

jacquesh

C++, Go, TeX
408
star
82
Michael van Niekerk (@mvniekerk)

mvniekerk

Rust, Java, Groovy
406
star
83
Robert Stuttaford (@robert-stuttaford)

robert-stuttaford

Clojure, JavaScript, Emacs Lisp
396
star
84
SARAO (@ska-sa)

ska-sa

Python, C, Jupyter Notebook
392
star
85
Govert van Drimmelen (@govert)

govert

C#, C++, C
388
star
86
Mpho Mphego (@mmphego)

mmphego

Python, Shell, HTML
386
star
87
Keegan Carruthers-Smith (@keegancsmith)

keegancsmith

Go, Python, C++
384
star
88
Ezekiel Utshudi Eteta (@EzekielUtshudi)

EzekielUtshudi

JavaScript, HTML, Ruby
382
star
89
@ThaumRystra

ThaumRystra

JavaScript, Vue
381
star
90
yuppiechef (@Yuppiechef)

Yuppiechef

Clojure
380
star
91
Dale (@dalehumby)

dalehumby

Python, Jupyter Notebook, Shell
378
star
92
Ray Viljoen (@RayViljoen)

RayViljoen

PHP, JavaScript, Shell
375
star
93
Malcolm  (@malcolmkmd)

malcolmkmd

Swift
373
star
94
Shaun Beautement (@SFBdragon)

SFBdragon

Rust, Python
371
star
95
@ollieza

ollieza

PHP
370
star
96
Naveera Ashraf (@nqcm)

nqcm

CSS, HTML, Python
366
star
97
Craig Mason-Jones (@craigmj)

craigmj

Go, Lua, C++
365
star
98
Matthew Baas (@RF5)

RF5

Jupyter Notebook, Python, CSS
363
star
99
Nicholas Wiersma (@nrwiersma)

nrwiersma

Go, Shell, C++
363
star
100
Charl Gottschalk (@CharlGottschalk)

CharlGottschalk

JavaScript
361
star

Statistics

By location

Cape Town 49.5%
Johannesburg 25.7%
Pretoria 7.9%
Durban 4.2%
Stellenbosch 2.9%
Other 9.8%

By programing language

JavaScript
23.0%
Python
14.5%
HTML
8.5%
C#
8.1%
Java
7.6%
Other
38.3%

World rating by programing language (country/rank)

C#
36
R
37
Rust
38
CSS
40
Dart
40

* More analytics for signed in users.